Hotel | Hotel DOMUS MARIA is situated in the very heart of Vilnius Old Town, in a complex of buildings that was started in the 16th century to form an impressive architectural ensemble: the Gate of Dawn with the Chapel of St. Virgin Mary the Mother of Grace and the miraculous painting of Mary, the early-baroque Church of St. Teresa. The whole ensemble has an irregular shape that matches the configuration of the defensive wall of the city.
Hotel DOMUS MARIA is based on the premises of a former monastery of Discalced Carmelites.
The monastery was built in 1621-1627 at the initiative of the burgomaster of Vilnius and his brother. The ground floor of the main building houses a refectory, monk cells, a storage room, a barn, a bakery and a kitchen, other levels contain cells. The rooms used to be decorated with paintings and frescoes, which still decorate the Great Hall to this day. In 1703 to 1723, the monastery housed a noviciate, later was a place for studies in philosophy.
The monastery was damaged in the wars of mid-17th century and early 18th century. In 1844, the monastery was shut down and handed over to orthodox monks. In 1861 to 1915, the monastery facilities were used for a girls’ school. Over the period from 1918 to 1931, there was a dormitory of girls (students, crafts-girls, maids) and a crafts-shop supported by the Lithuanian Charity Fellowship running on the premises of the monastery. In the wake of the Second World War, the Engineers’ Institute of Vilnius was lodged there.
Staying at Hotel DOMUS MARIA you will feel the unique of the rooms that have been outfitted with subtlety in the cells of the late-renaissance monastery.
Facilities and services
CapacityNumber of floors: 4 48 room(s) 103 bed(s) Conference rooms: 3
Eat & Drink on siteBar
Special requirementsPhysically disabled facilities
Good to know
Phone number (booking)+370 5 2644880